The 5 Stages Of Grief | Understanding And Coping With Loss

Asian funeral directors, Wolverhampton, Birmingham, Coventry, Leicester, Derby, Leamington & Warwick

The 5 stages of grief

It can be very difficult to feel prepared to lose a loved one, it is helpful to understand the emotions you may be going through.

"Whether its Expected or Unexpected"

It can be very difficult to feel prepared to lose a loved one, it is helpful to understand the
emotions you may be going through.
There is no right way to grieve and there is no particular way you ‘should’ be feeling.
You or those around you, may experience some or all of the below

  • Denial: “This can’t be happening to me!”
  • Anger: “Why is this happening? Who is to blame?”
  • Bargaining: “Make this not happen, and in return I will ____.”
  • Depression: “I’m too sad to do anything.”
  • Acceptance: “I’m at peace with what has happened.”


There is no single or one-size-fits-all approach to grieving, however there are proven ways
to cope with pain, come to terms with a loss and to find acceptance and peace.

  1. Acknowledge your pain – ‘being strong’ does not mean ignoring your own feelings. Accept that this is a difficult time for yourself and allow yourself to express your emotions.
  2. Accept that grief can trigger many different and unexpected emotions – from shock, anger, disbelief, and guilt. It is normal for the pain of loss to feel overwhelming, but this feeling will subside in time with the right healing.
  3. Understand that your grieving process will be unique to you – don’t compare yourself to how others are grieving, we are all different and process our emotions differently too. This is your own grieving journey.
  4. Seek out face-to-face support from people who care about you – reach out to friends, family, faith & support groups. Always remember there is professional help in the way of therapists and grief counsellors.
  5. Support yourself emotionally by taking care of yourself physically – get out in nature, take walks, and be kind to your body as it allows your mind & heart to heal.
  6. Recognise the difference between grief and depression – each is a distinct experience but share similar symptoms. Experiencing grief is a normal healing process, however if you have any concerns relating to depression it is very important to get a diagnosis and seek treatment.

Call us

Our dedicated team our always there for you when you need us most, all our lines are open 24 hours, 7 days a week so you’ll always have someone to talk to.

03338 804 488

Alternatively, you can speak to your local branch, simply use the button below to find your local branch:

Find your local branch

Message us

Simply fill out the form below and will endeavour to get back to you as soon as possible:


    Join our mailing list

    Stay in touch with the latest delivered straight into your inbox